Toyota Land Cruiser updated with new engine and fresh tech


Toyota has revised its flagship Land Cruiser 4×4, adding a new 2.8-litre diesel engine and some extra safety equipment. The passenger model is available to order now, with prices starting from £42,345 for the entry-level three-door variant, climbing to £57,490 for the range-topping seven-seat Invincible version. First deliveries are expected to arrive in October.

Toyota will also launch an updated version of the Land Cruiser Commercial later in the autumn, which will sport the same revisions as the passenger car. Prices will start from £35,925 for the three-door Utility model, climbing to £42,175 for the five-door Active variant.

Like the outgoing model, the updated Toyota Land Cruiser is powered by a turbocharged 2.8-litre four-cylinder diesel engine, but its output has risen from 174bhp and 450Nm of torque to 201bhp and 500Nm. Toyota says the extra power has dropped the 0–62mph time to 9.3 seconds – a 2.8 second improvement over the old car.

Every version of the updated Toyota Land Cruiser comes with a mechanical four-wheel drive system, a low-ratio gearbox and a lockable centre differential as standard. The Commercial variant can be specced with a six-speed manual gearbox, while the passenger model is only available with a six-speed automatic.

Updated Toyota Land Cruiser: trim-levels

Toyota has simplified the Land Cruiser’s trim-level structure, cutting the 4×4’s line-up to just two models. The entry-level Active variant is available as either a short or long-wheelbase model, and comes as standard with 17-inch alloy wheels, heated and electrically operated door mirrors, roof rails, cruise control, air conditioning and keyless entry and start.

Inside, there’s an improved version of the old car’s eight-inch infotainment system. Toyota says the updated touchscreen features faster software and a new, customisable home screen, which allows owners to prioritise their most frequently used functions. Like the old unit, the improved touchscreen also offers support for Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

The range-topping Land Cruiser Invincible is only available in Toyota’s five-door, seven-seat, long-wheelbase configuration – and it’s available with a range of cosmetic, convenience and technology tweaks.

Upgrades over the entry-level model include 19-inch alloy wheels, LED headlights, rear privacy glass and illuminated side steps. Inside, buyers get a pair of electrically adjustable, heated and ventilated front seats, leather upholstery, three-zone climate control, heated rear seats and a 14-speaker JBL premium audio system.

The Invincible model also features a few chassis and drivetrain tweaks, which are designed to make the Land Cruiser more capable off-road. Upgrades include adaptive air suspension, a locking rear differential, a Torsen centre limited-slip differential and an improved drive mode selector with a rock crawling function.

As part of the model update, Toyota has also launched an optional Black Pack for the Land Cruiser Invincible, which swaps the 4×4’s radiator grille, door mirrors, rear light surrounds, side mouldings and rear exterior trim for gloss black replacements. 

Clear rear light lenses are also included in the package, while black alloy wheels can be specced as a further optional extra. Finally, for the interior, the upgrade adds some black trim for the centre console and transmission tunnel.

If the Toyota Land Cruiser doesn’t suit your load-lugging needs, then check out our list of the best pick-up trucks you can buy now…


Source link

You may also like

Leave a reply